Les Home NBJ Ka-Band Living Stereo jOrgan Organ Design Raymond Scott
Les' Friesach Extended Organ

Thanks to Piotr Grabowski, the Hauptwerk community has marvelous samples of the Eisenbarth organ of St. Bartholomäus Church in Friesach, Austria. He has made this sample set availabe as "freeware" on his web site.

I have taken the Friesach sample set and extended it to create new larger organ I call simply "Les' Friesach Extended Organ." I have enlarged this to fit my former Rodgers 945 organ console so I could use it as a practice instrument in my home.

I was very impressed by the Friesach samples becuase of their clarity and brightness. The reverb is long – but it in no way impairs the speaking quality of the ranks.

This organ is "free" in that you can download the samples from Piotr's web site and use them as long as you adhere to the terms he has put forth.

The specification of my Friesach Extended Organ is as follows.

Les' Friesach Extended Organ
Pedal Positif (Expressive) Hauptwerk Schwellwerk (Expressive)
32' Unterstatz 8' Jubalflöte 16' Praesatant 16' Bourdon
16' Contrabass 8' Corno Dolce 8' Principal 8' Principal
16' Subbass 8' Gamba 8' Rohrflöte 8' Nach Gedackt
16' Praestant (HW) 8' Gamba Celeste (TC) 8' Holzflöte 8' Viola
16' Bourdon (SW) 4' Prinzipal 8' Principal (SW) 8' Vox Celeste
8' Octavebass 4' Trichterflöte 4' Octave 4' Geigen Principal
8' Gedackt 2' Waldflöte 4' Spitzflöte 4' Querflöte
4' Choralbass 1 1/3' Larigot 2 2/3' Quinte 2 2/3' Nazard
4' Querflöte (SW)   Cornet a Pavilon I-VIII 2' Octave 2' Flageolett
  Mixtur III   Scharff III 2' Waldflöte 1 3/5' Tierce
32' Posaune 8' Englischhorn   Mixtur Major IV-V   Plein Jeu IV-V
16' Posaune 8' Tromp. en Chamade   Mixtur Minor IV 16' Contra Hautbois
16' Contra Hautbois (SW)   Tremulant 16' Trompete 8' Trompete Harmomnique
8' Trompete     8' Trompete 8' Hautbois
4' Englischhorn (PO) 16' Positif to Positif 4' Trompete 4' Clairon
      Positif Unison Off       Tremulant
8' Hauptwerk to Pedal 4' Positif to Positif 16' Schwell to Hauptwerk    
8' Schwell to Pedal 16' Schwell to Positif 8' Schwell to Hauptwerk 16' Schwell to Schwell
4' Schwell to Pedal 8' Schwell to Positif 4' Schwell to Hauptwerk Schwell Unison Off
8' Positif to Pedal 4' Schwell to Positif 16' Positif to Hauptwerk 4' Schwell to Schwell
4' Positif to Pedal     8' Positif to Hauptwerk 8' Positif to Schwell
        4' Positif to Hauptwerk    


This is actually my first organ design using higher resolution displays - in this case 2400 x 1800 pixels. This is also my first design with left and right sidejamb displays.

Here are the console, left jamb, and right jamb views. Click on each to see full size representations.


You can read all about the original organ on Piotr's web site. Here is what I did to extend the organ:

In the Pedal, I added several borrowed stops from other divisions to make things bit more independant. I also created an independant pedal mixture by using three instances of the Hauptwerk Octave 4', revoiced and retuned. Since these are created as new indepenedant ranks, there are no unification effects.

The main change was creating a substantial Positif division to replace the Solowerk. I made it expressive to add flexibility. You can, of course, ignore it if you wish! I revoiced the existing Solowerk ranks to bring them into character with a Positif. I moved the Corno Dolce 8' and Gamba 8' from the Hauptwerk and placed them here to contruct a plenum. I added a detuned version of the Gamba (from tenor C only) to create a second independant celeste for the organ. I moved the Scharff here from the Schwellwerk to have a mixture in this division. It can still be coupled back to the Schwellwerk when needed there.

I created a borrowed stop in the Hauptwerk to allow a softer 8' diapason for flexibility. I also created a 2' flute by duplicating the Spitzflute and voicing it a bit softer.

In the Schwellwerk, I extended the Hautbois to 16' by extrapolating 12 pipes in the bass. I made the extension available in the Pedal too, so one can have a softer 16' reed when appropriate there.

I have disabled the wind model – for historic reasons. Also, I have not incorporated any of the tracker, keyboard, expression, or stop noises from the Friesach. In my own application, I like a clean organ without noises.

Piotr's original organ has four release samples for most of the pipes. Since the CODM in Hauptwerk allows only three, I have eliminated one of these. It is highly unikely you will be able to detect this – but I believe in "full disclosure!"

Finally, I added a full complement of couplers and a large combination action. At this point, I have not added a crescendo pedal – but I might do this in the future. There are also the standard reversable pistons and "bass" and "melody" functions – mostly becuase they are so easy to create in Hauptwerk.

Even with all the new ranks, this organ still loads into 16 GB of RAM in 24-bit mode (at least on my computers!)

If you want to try this organ, be sure you have Hauptwerk v4 or higher (this organ does not require a special license) and have already installed the Friesach organ from Piotr's web site.

Then download the following:


This is a Hauptwerk standard installation package in rar format. Save it to your disk, start Hauptwerk, and then use its install feature to read the rar file as per the manual.

Usually, I provide the source code for the Hauptwerk CODM file so you can see how I did all this and get ideas for your own projects. However, for this particular project I have eliminated some individual sampled pipes and done considerable voicing and tuning. The instructions for others to reconstruct all of this would be too complex. Hence I am not providing this file for this project.

This organ is a great value. You get ~80 ranks for free (I get nothing - but I have great a day job). Even at 24-bit resolution, the samples fit into RAM on all but the very smallest computers. The reverb on the samples is ample, but the clarity of the samples still makes this a good insturment for practicing.

Here are some some demo recordings I made of this instrument:

Toccata and Fugue in Dm by J. S. Bach
Final from Organ Sonata #1 by Alex. Guilmant
Beautiful Galatea by Franz von Suppé arranged by Les Deutsch
Have fun with this.